

Minutes 2015 ISCBFM General Assembly Monday June 29, 2015

ISCBFM General Assembly (West Ballroom A)

President Edith Hamel called the meeting to order at 9:40am, welcomed the assembly and reviewed the agenda.

1. Approval of the minutes from the last General Assembly (Shanghai 2013)

Secretary Joseph LaManna briefly reviewed the minutes from Shanghai and reported that it will be posted on the ISCBFM website for review. Asked for approval of minutes. *General assembly approved minutes*. No one opposed.

2. Report of the Secretary - Joseph LaManna

* Results of the Elections

Dr. LaManna presented the results of the Elections and congratulated each candidate, noting that their term begins at the end of the conference.

PRESIDENT-ELECT (2015-2017): Eng Lo

TREASURER-ELECT (2015-2017): Jaroslaw Aronowski

DIRECTORS (2015-2019): Cenk Ayata (USA)

Maria-Grazia De Simoni (Italy)

Jens Dreier (Germany) Nobutaka Kawahara (Japan) Kazuo Kitagawa (Japan) Bojana Stefanovic (Canada)

Dr. LaManna recognized the outgoing Directors whose four year term ends at the end of the conference:

Jaroslaw Aronowski Marilyn Cipolla Rick Dijkhuizen William Pearce Miguel Perez-Pinzon Nobuhito Saito

Round of applause was given to welcome the newly elected members and to thank the exiting members.



Membership Statistics

Noted membership figures as of May 2015 is 718.

New Members: 84 Renewal Rate: 56%

Shared geographic disbursement as of Dec 2014:

Totals	Count
Atlantic Ocean	0
Asia	185
Australia	10
Canada	20
Europe	166
United States	240
South	
America	1
South Pacific	1

❖ Approval of By-law changes

Dr. LaManna reports current review/extensive editing of Bylaws. Noted that language is being updated (gender terms, biennial vs annual, etc). Essence of the Bylaws are not changing; reflect what the Society has been currently practicing.

Will call for a vote after membership has reviewed.

3. Report of the Treasurer - Jun Chen

Dr. Chen thanked the Society for trusting and electing him as Treasurer and thanked Dr. Herscovitch for his mentorship.

- * Reviewed role of treasurer and interactions with different groups
 - i. Executive Committee can approve expenditures up to \$5K, Board of Directors approve expenditures greater than \$5K.
 - ii. Reviewed audit process (Osterman, Pollack & Moses, LLC)
 - iii. Reviewed management services contract (FASEB)
 - iv. Reviewed approved investment policy and recommendation from Investment consultants (Graystone Consulting/Morgan Stanley). The following was implemented in 2013:
 - 1. Increase the amount of assets held in long term reserve fund from 60% to 70% (range 60-80%) and modify asset allocation targets to 55% equities; 43% fixed income; 2% cash.
- ❖ Reviewed Financial Statements (2014 & first half of 2015)
 - i. Showed continued growth of net assets over the past few years.
 - ii. Net assets as of Q1 2015: \$4.3M
- Motions for General Assembly approval
 - i. Treasurer's Report for fiscal year 2013/2014
 - ii. Retention of Morgan Stanley as investment advisor
 - iii. Retention of FASEB for management services
 - iv. Retention of Osterman, Pollack & Moses for audit and tax returns
 - v. Moved by Doris Doudet, seconded by Martin Lauritzen; Unanimously approved.



4. Report of the Editors - Ulrich Dirnagl & Martin Lauritzen

Editors reported on the activities of the Journal, highlighting the following points.

- a. Announced the transition from NPG to SAGE effective 1/1/2016
- b. Reviewed Performance Indicators
 - i. Increase in Impact Factor from 5.339 to 5.407
 - ii. Increased submissions
 - iii. 3K per day hit on website and increasing
- c. Reviewed geographic breakdown of Submissions (first US, then Europe)
- d. Reviewed manuscript type
 - i. Original articles still top manuscript type.
 - Noted that everything is sent for peer review; briefly reviewed peer review process
- e. Overall goals
 - i. Increase Impact Factor- striving for 6
 - ii. Increase quality of articles
 - iii. Work with Sage and the Publications Committee for a smooth transition to new publisher

5. Welcome New President

President Hamel thanked everyone for their support during her tenure. She publically thanked the following:

- ❖ Mhairi Macrae- for her work with EIC renewals and Publisher change
 - i. Mhairi thanks members of the Publishing Committee, Graham Vees and the EICs
- David Boas and the Program Committee for their hard work on Brain2015
- Susan Venucii and Education Committee for their work on the Satellite meetings and proposals for symposia to replace Gordon conference
- ❖ Doris Doudet, local host for Brain2015 for all of her hard work
 - i. Doris announced details about the member cruise, waiting list release and boarding times
- All of the other committees that were not highlighted but did so much work.

Dr. Hamel official welcomed Peter Herscovitch and passes the virtual gavel. Dr. Herscovitch thanks Edith for her exemplary leadership and notes that she will be a tough act to follow. Highlights his goals and focus for the upcoming term and thanked everyone for their confidence.

6. Because the Bylaws currently state that we hold annual meetings, proposed to hold the next General Assembly meeting in Berlin in 2017. Moved and seconded; unanimously approved.

Meeting adjourned 10:33am